Jefferson County, Alabama

Jefferson County, Unified Judicial System, State of Alabama

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

Valid CSS!

Filing Fees for Jefferson County Civil Divisions

All fees reported are current as of June 21, 2012.

ANNE-MARIE ADAMS, CLERK
JEFFERSON COUNTY COURTHOUSE, ROOM 400
BIRMINGHAM, ALABAMA 35203
(205) 325-5355

CIRCUIT CIVIL DIVISION FILING FEE
Act No. 2012-525
EFFECTIVE 6/21/2012


FILING FEES
$251.00One Plaintiff, One Defendant up to $50,000.00
$351.00One Plaintiff, One Defendant over $50,000.00 or unspecified amount
$251.00 Pro Ami
$251Verified Complaint
$251.00Most Appeals, such as Driver’s License, Tax and Unemployment
$251.00Foreign Judgments, Arbitration Awards, Quiet Titles, Modify Petitions, Injunction, Complaint to Interplead
$251.00Petitions
$251.00TRO - Temporary Restraining Order
$251.00Application for Abandon Motor Vehicle Hearing
$251.00Appeal/Transfer/Removal From Probate to Circuit
 Additional Defendant $10.00 - Additional Plaintiff $100.00 ( Up to $1,000)
-Additional Defendant served by Certified Mail (Atty supplies Postage)
$10.00Defendant served by Sheriff in Jefferson County
-Defendant served by Out-of County Sheriff
-Defendant served by Process Server
$100.00Jury Demand
$200.00 Appeals (Court of Civil Appeals, Supreme Court)

Subpoenas
$12.00 Cost of Subpoena
$10.00 Service by Sheriff in Jefferson County
- Service by Out-of County Sheriff
- Service by Process Server
- Service by Certified Mail (Atty supplies Postage)

Execution
$30.00 Cost of Execution
$10.00 Service by Sheriff in Jefferson County
- Service by Out-of County Sheriff
- Service by Process Server
- Service by CerService by Certified Mail (Atty supplies Postage)

Garnishment
$30.00 Cost of Garnishment
$10.00 Service by Sheriff in Jefferson County
- Service by Out-of County Sheriff
- Service by Process Server
- Service by Certified Mail (Atty supplies Postage

Workman’s Compensation
$199.00 Walkthrough Workman’s Compensation
$251.00 If workman’s compensation is retaliatory, up to $5,000.00
$351.00 If workman’s compensation is retaliatory, over $5,000.00

Additional Fees for Existing Cases
  Alias Summons - same service fees apply
$297.00 Counterclaim, Cross Claim, Add Count (over $50,000), Third Party Motion/Complaint (includes Deft), Motion/Complaint for Intervenor, Action for Declaratory Judgment.  Cost for additional Intervenor applies the same as multiple plaintiffs.
$50.00 Motion for Judgment on Pleadings, Motion for Summary Judgment, Motion for Default Judgment or Application for Default Judgment
$30.00 Writ of Seizure + $10.00 for service
$10.00 Conditional Judgment + $10.00 for service in Jefferson County
$10.00 PFR1 (to reinstate driver’s license)
$15.00 Certificate of Exemplification or Triple Seal, Acts of Congress
$10.00 Certificate of Judgment
$100.00 Publication (Checks made payable to Alabama Messenger)
$220.00 Quiet Title (Checks made payable to Alabama Messenger)
$5.00 Notary Verification (per document)

No charge for Motion to Reinstate
No charge for Motion to Compel
No charge for Consent Judgment
No charge to file an answer
Lis Pendens - No Charge - File stamp and take to Probate Court to record, $5.00 to certify

CERTIFIED MAIL - When requesting service wherein the address provided is a post office box, or is out of state, the papers may be served by certified mail. You should prepare an envelope, green card, and green and white sticker. Be sure that the Clerk's address is the return address, to-wit: CIRCUIT CLERK,716 RICHARD ARRINGTON JR. BLVD.,ROOM 400, BIRMINGHAM, ALABAMA 35203


NOTICE PERTAINING TO JEFFERSON COUNTY SHERIFF'S FEES

ACT # 2003-289

There will be an additional ten dollar ($10.00) fee charged on every document submitted to the Jefferson County Sheriff's Department for service.  This will pertain to all complaints, subpoenas, garnishments, executions, etc. served by the Jefferson County Sheriff's Department only.  The fee does not affect documents served out of county, by certified mail or special process server.

PLEASE CHECK ADDRESS FOR IN-COUNTY OR OUT-OF-COUNTY PARTY!